Notre équipe

Bureau national

Emilie Coyle, directrice générale

Emilie apporte à son rôle de directrice générale de l'ACSEF plus de 15 ans d'expérience en leadership et en gestion dans le secteur à but non lucratif. Son expérience dans la société civile l'a conduite d’un bout à l’autre du Canada. Elle est installée à Ottawa avec ses deux enfants – Maia et Niko – et son partenaire, Adam. Emilie est passionnée par le pouvoir de la communauté et cherche activement des moyens de favoriser son renforcement. Cela inclut de soutenir le travail essentiel sur le terrain des nombreuses sociétés Elizabeth Fry. Elle est titulaire d'une licence en études internationales, d'une maîtrise en éducation et d'un doctorat en droit. Elle aime aussi les bons livres et accueille volontiers les suggestions de ceux qu'elle pourrait ajouter à sa collection toujours croissante.

 

Jackie Omstead, coordinatrice nationale

Jackie s’est jointe au réseau Elizabeth Fry en 2017, d'abord comme bénévole, puis comme employée locale, puis comme coordinatrice régionale et représentante régionale. Jackie s'investit dans la justice pour les personnes criminalisées, tant à l'intérieur qu'à l'extérieur de la prison. Elle a commencé à travailler avec les personnes incarcérées par le biais des arts, principalement en tant que membre fondatrice du Confluence Arts Collective, qui a été précédé par d'autres projets artistiques dans les prisons, notamment aux établissements Grand Valley, Joyceville et Beaver Creek. En plus de sa collaboration avec EFry et Confluence, elle a œuvré comme conférencière, animatrice et artiste indépendante. Elle est titulaire d'une maîtrise en criminologie et justice sociale avec une spécialisation en politique publique de l'Université Ryerson. Son travail repose sur un engagement en faveur de l'abolition des prisons et de la carcéralité, et est soutenu par la construction et la participation à des communautés d'entraide, en particulier des communautés queer.

Jaya Bordeleau-Cass, chercheuse juridique et analyste politique

Résidant actuellement en territoire algonquin non cédé (à Ottawa, Ontario), Jaya est passionnée par la création de communautés plus fortes, plus saines et plus accueillantes. Jaya est titulaire d'un doctorat en droit et a effectué son stage à Amnesty International Canada. Elle a développé ses compétences juridiques grâce à des occasions enrichissantes au Refuge Hub de l'Université d'Ottawa, au Capital Rainbow Refuge, et en tant que travailleuse sociale et éducatrice juridique à la Clinique juridique communautaire de l'Université d'Ottawa et au Centre juridique communautaire de Wellington à Aotearoa (Nouvelle-Zélande).

 

Jaya a également participé à plusieurs initiatives qui priorisent les droits de la personne, l'équité, l'éducation et le démantèlement des systèmes d'oppression aux paliers local, national et international. Elle a notamment participé à la réinstallation de réfugiés à Ottawa et Aotearoa, facilité le dialogue et l'établissement de relations entre les jeunes autochtones et non autochtones grâce au programme Canadian Roots Exchange, et elle a fourni un soutien scolaire aux élèves d’origine inuite au collège Nunavut Sivuniksavut.

 

Dans son rôle actuel de chercheuse juridique et d'analyste politique, Jaya s'efforce de continuer à apprendre et à travailler en solidarité avec les communautés touchées par les dysfonctionnements du système de justice pénale et la violence d'État.

 

Patti Tait, conseillère en projets spéciaux

Patti Tait est une femme autochtone qui œuvre dans le domaine de l'aide depuis plus de 30 ans. Elle a beaucoup travaillé dans les prisons fédérales et provinciales pour conseiller et soutenir les hommes et les femmes autochtones. Patti était agente de liaison autochtone à la Prison pour femmes. On a souvent fait appel à elle en tant qu'experte sur les problèmes rencontrés par les délinquantes des Premières nations, métisses et inuites, et les délinquantes autochtones non enregistrées. Elle a été membre du Réseau canadien autochtone du VIH/SIDA (RCAS) et l'une des premières membres du conseil consultatif de All Nations Hope AIDS Network. Tout au long de sa carrière, elle s'est engagée en faveur de populations autochtones en conflit avec la loi et de groupes marginalisés par les maladies infectieuses. Elle travaille actuellement pour Elizabeth Fry Saskatchewan où elle offre du counseling individuel et joue le rôle de coordinatrice culturelle. Elle siège au conseil d'administration de Metis Addiction Saskatchewan. Elle est également appelée à partager ses connaissances sur la culture et les traditions autochtones. Cela inclut des présentations dans les écoles, les collèges et les universités. En tant que kokum (grand-mère) et chapan (arrière-grand-mère), Patti est passionnée par la nécessité pour les communautés autochtones de guérir pour les générations futures. Patti est également membre de l'équipe de défense des intérêts régionaux des Prairies et de notre conseil d'administration. Elle est sous contrat avec nous par l'intermédiaire de la Société Elizabeth Fry de la Saskatchewan. 

Projet Briser le cycle
  • Darlene MacEachern, coordinatrice régionale

  • Michelle Gushue, consultante experte

  • Janet Foyle, coordinatrice régionale

  • Wendy Bariteau, consultante experte

  • Yoriko Susanj, coordinatrice régionale

  • Renee Acoby, consultante experte

Notre conseil d’administration

Dawn Ferris, présidente

Dawn s’est jointe à la Société Elizabeth Fry de la Nouvelle-Écosse continentale en 2012 et siège depuis cette date au conseil d'administration de l'ACSEF. Elle est devenue présidente de l'ACSEF en juin 2019. Dawn est une militante, une féministe et une socialiste convaincue. Elle a été très active dans son syndicat lorsqu'elle a travaillé à l'Université de Dalhousie pendant 20 ans. Cette expérience lui a permis d'affiner ses compétences en matière de leadership, car elle y a trouvé sa passion pour la défense des autres, en particulier les femmes. Dawn est aujourd'hui directrice générale de l'Association des maisons d’hébergement du comté de Cumberland, qui comprend Autumn House (maison d’hébergement pour femmes), New Directions (programme d'intervention auprès des hommes) et une maison de deuxième étape pour les femmes et les enfants. Elle occupe ce poste depuis décembre 2017. Dawn est également impliquée dans l’organisation communautaire et s’investit dans l’équité et la diversité. Avec son conjoint Kevin, elle a trois filles qui sont adultes aujourd’hui.

 

Toni Sinclair, vice-présidente, représentante du personnel et représentante régionale (région des Prairies)

Toni Sinclair est une Métisse née à Cold Lake en Alberta. Elle est titulaire d'un diplôme en sociologie de l'Université d'Alberta et d'un certificat de leadership exécutif de l'Université Stanford. Mais elle a surtout appris au contact des femmes et des filles qu'elle a eu le privilège et l'honneur de côtoyer tout au long de sa carrière. Toni est l'actuelle directrice générale de la Société Elizabeth Fry d’Edmonton. Elle est également vice-présidente de l'ACSEF et fait partie d'une équipe régionale de plaidoyer qui assure le suivi des conditions de détention et des droits de la personne dans les prisons fédérales pour femmes. Elle est fière de collaborer avec une équipe passionnée et dévouée à notre mission qui consiste à faire progresser la dignité et la valeur de toutes les femmes, les filles et les personnes non binaires qui sont criminalisées. Dans ses rares moments de temps libre, Toni aime faire du sport, explorer la nature, voyager et afficher trop de photos de ses chats sur Instagram.

 

Cathy Harrison, trésorière et représentante au conseil d’administration (région du Pacifique)

Cathy siège au conseil d'administration de la Central Okanagan Elizabeth Fry Society (Kelowna, BC) depuis 2013. En 2015, elle s’est jointe au conseil d'administration de l'ACSEF en tant que membre de l'équipe de la région Pacifique. En 2019, elle a accepté de devenir la trésorière de l’Association. Cathy est titulaire des titres de comptable professionnelle agréée (CPA) et de comptable en management accréditée (2011). Elle détient une licence en administration des affaires (BBA), co-conférée par l'Université de Colombie-Britannique et l'Okanagan College (2006).

  • Patti Tait, représentante des femmes autochtones

  • Axelle Francois, représentante au conseil d’administration (Québec)

  • Diane Bergeron, représentante au conseil d’administration (Québec)

  • Ruth Gagnon, représentante du personnel et représentante régionale (Québec)

  • Denise Durette, représentante du personnel et représentante régionale (Atlantique)

  • Jillian Barrington, représentante au conseil d’administration (Atlantique)

  • Judy Murphy, représentante du personnel et représentante régionale (Atlantique)

  • Cory Roslyn, représentante du personnel (Ontario)

  • Erin Bellavance, représentante au conseil d’administration (Ontario)

  • Venus Sayed, représentante au conseil d’administration (Ontario)

  • Jennifer Murphy, représentante au conseil d’administration (Pacifique)

  • Micki Materi, représentante du personnel (Pacifique)

 

Liens directs

 

Courriel: admin@caefs.ca

Téléphone: 1-800-637-4606

Organisme de bienfaisance enregistré: 108074980RR0001

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram

© 2020 by Canadian Association of Elizabeth Fry Societies

Our Team

National Office 

Emilie Coyle, Executive Director

Emilie brings over 15 years of leadership and management experience in the non-profit sector to her role as Executive Director of CAEFS. Her experience in civil society has taken her from Canada’s west, to the east, and she now makes her home in Ottawa with her two children – Maia and Niko – and her partner, Adam. Emilie is passionate about the power of community and actively pursues ways to animate community-building. This includes supporting the essential on-the-groundwork of the many Elizabeth Fry Societies across the country. She has a BA in International Studies, a Master of Education, and a Juris Doctor in law. She also loves a good book and welcomes suggestions for ones to add to her ever-growing collection.

Jackie Omstead, National Coordinator

Jackie began her work with the Elizabeth Fry network in 2017 – first as a volunteer, then as a local staff, then as a regional coordinator and regional advocate. Jackie is invested in justice for criminalized people both inside and outside of prison. She began working with incarcerated people through the arts, primarily as a founding member of Confluence Arts Collective, which was preceded by other arts projects in prisons including with people incarcerated at the Grand Valley Institution, the Joyceville Institution, and the Beaver Creek Institution. In addition to her work with EFry and Confluence, she has worked as a freelance lecturer, facilitator, and artist. She holds a MA in Criminology and Social Justice – with a focus on Public Policy – from Ryerson University. Her work is informed by a commitment to abolishing prisons and carcerality, and sustained through building and being a part of caring communities, especially queer ones.

Jaya Bordeleau-Cass, Legal Researcher & Policy Analyst 

Currently residing on unceded Algonquin territory (in Ottawa, Ontario), Jaya is passionate about building stronger, healthier and more welcoming communities. Jaya holds a Juris Doctor in law and completed her articling at Amnesty International Canada. She has developed her legal advocacy skills through enriching opportunities with the University of Ottawa Refugee Hub, Capital Rainbow Refuge, and as a caseworker and legal educator at the University of Ottawa Community Legal Clinic and the Wellington Community Law Centre in Aotearoa (New-Zealand).  

 

Jaya has also been involved in several initiatives that prioritize human rights, equity, education, and dismantling systems of oppression at local, national and international levels. These include engaging in refugee resettlement in Ottawa and Aotearoa; facilitating dialogue and relationship-building between Indigenous and non-Indigenous youth with Canadian Roots Exchange; and providing academic support to Inuit students at Nunavut Sivuniksavut.  

 

In her current role as Legal Research and Policy analyst with CAEFS, Jaya strives to continue learning from - and working in solidarity with communities impacted by the criminal justice system and state violence.  

 

Patti Tait, Special Projects Advisor 

Patti Tait is an Aboriginal woman who began working in the helping field more than 30 years ago. She worked extensively within federal and provincial prisons counselling and supporting Indigenous men and women. Patti was a Native Liaison at Prison for Women. She has often been called upon as an expert on the issues faced by First Nations, Metis, Inuit and unregistered Indigenous offenders. Patti has been a member the Canadian Aboriginal HIV/AIDS Network (CAAN) and was an original member of the Advisory Council for All Nations Hope AIDS Network. throughout her career she has been committed to Indigenous people who have come in conflict with the law and to those who are most marginalized by infectious diseases. She is currently working for the Elizabeth Fry Saskatchewan and does individual counselling to marginalized women and also has the role of cultural coordinator. She sits on the Metis Addiction Saskatchewan board as an active member. She is also called upon to share her knowledge regarding Aboriginal culture and traditions within the community. This includes presentations in schools, colleges and at the universities. As a kokum (grandmother), and chapan (great-grandmother), Patti is passionate about the need for Indigenous communities to heal for our future generations. Patti is also a member of the Prairie Regional Advocacy team and our board. She is contracted with us through the Elizabeth Fry Society of Saskatchewan. 

Breaking the Cycle Project 
  • Darlene MacEachern, Regional Coordinator 

  • Michelle Gushue, Expert Consultant ​

  • Janet Foyle, Regional Coordinator 

  • Wendy Bariteau, Expert Consultant 

  • Yoriko Susanj, Regional Coordinator

  • Renee Acoby, Expert Consultant

Our Board 

Dawn Ferris, President

Dawn has been involved with the Elizabeth Fry Society of Mainland Nova Scotia since 2012 and has been on the Board of CAEFS since that time as well. She became the President of CAEFS in June of 2019. Dawn is a strong activist, feminist, and socialist. Dawn was very active in her union while she worked at Dalhousie University for 20 years. This experience honed her leadership skills as she found her passion for advocating for others, especially women. Dawn is now the Executive Director at the Cumberland County Transition House Association, which includes Autumn House (the women's transition house), New Directions (the men's intervention program), and a second stage home for women and children. She has been in this role since December 2017. Dawn is also actively involved in community organizing and is invested in equity and diversity. Dawn is married to Kevin and they have three grown daughters who all out on their own ‘adulting’. 

 

Toni Sinclair, Vice President, Staff Representation & Regional Advocate (Prairie Region)

Toni Sinclair is a Metis woman born in Cold Lake, AB. She holds a degree in Sociology from the University of Alberta and Executive Leadership Certification from Stanford University. Her greatest education, though, comes from the women and girls who she has had the privilege and honor to walk alongside throughout her career. Toni is the current Executive Director of the Elizabeth Fry Society in Edmonton. She is also the Vice President of the Canadian Association of Elizabeth Fry Societies, and is a part of a regional advocacy team that monitors conditions of confinement and human rights in federal prisons for women.  She is proud to work alongside a passionate team devoted to our mission of advancing the dignity and worth of all women, girls and non-binary folks who are criminalized or are at risk. In the rare moments where she has spare time, Toni enjoys playing sports, exploring nature, travelling, and posting too many pictures of her cats on Instagram. 

 

Cathy Harrison, Treasurer & Board Representative (Pacific Region)

Cathy joined the  Board of Directors for the Central Okanagan Elizabeth Fry Society (Kelowna, BC) since 2013.  In 2015, she joined the Board of Directors for the Canadian Association of Elizabeth Fry Societies  as a member of the Pacific Region team. In 2019, she agreed to become the Treasurer for the Society. Cathy is a Chartered Professional Accountant (CPA) Designation and Certified Management Accountant (2011). She holds a Bachelor of Business Administration (BBA), Co-conferred by University of British Columbia and Okanagan College (2006)

  • Patti Tait, Indigenous Women’s Representative

  • Axelle Francois, Board Representative (Quebec Region)

  • Diane Bergeron, Board Representative (Quebec Region)

  • Ruth Gangnon, Staff Representative & Regional Advocate (Quebec Region)

  • Aleksandra Zajko, Translator & Staff Representative (Quebec Region)

  • Denise Durette, Board Representative & Regional Advocate (Atlantic Region)

  • Jillian Barrington, Board Representative (Atlantic Region)

  • Judy Murphy, Staff Representative & Regional Advocate (Atlantic Region)

  • Cory Roslyn, Staff Representative (Ontario Region)

  • Erin Bellavance, Board Representative (Ontario Region)

  • Venus Sayed, Board Representative (Ontario Region)

  • Jennifer Murphy, Board Representative (Pacific Region)

  • Micki Materi, Staff Representative (Pacific Region)

 

Quick Links

 

Email: admin@caefs.ca

Phone: 1-800-637-4606

Registered Charity: 108074980RR0001

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram

© 2020 by Canadian Association of Elizabeth Fry Societies